Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer


Renz Named AVCA Player of the Year for NCCAA Volleyball

Renz Named AVCA Player of the Year for NCCAA Volleyball

LEXINGTON, Ky. --- The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) has named Maranatha Baptist University standout Alison Renz as the National Player of the Year from the National Christian College Athletic Association (NCCAA - both divisions) for the 2016 season.

Renz completes a rare triple, as she was named the National Player of the Year for both the NCCAA DII and the Association of Division III Independents (AD3I) this season.

The Lake Mills native finished her distinguished career near the top of the MBU program record books with 1411 kills (4th all-time), a .328 attack percentage (4th all-time), and 412 total blocks (2nd all-time). Renz finished the 2016 season with her highest totals in each of those categories for each of her four seasons, and ranked second in the NCCAA DII in kills per set and blocks per set.

The three-time NCCAA All-American is the second recipient from Maranatha to garner the AVCA award, as Torey "DeLozier" Rosen earned the honor back in 2012.

Renz finishes her four-year career with following awards:

  • 2 national championship medals (NCCAA DII)
  • 3 NCCAA All-America selections
  • 3 AVCA All-America selections
  • 3 AD3I All-Independent selections
  • 2 NCCAA DII Player of the Year honors
  • 2 AD3I Player of the Year honors
  • 2 NCCAA DII National Tournament MVP awards

"As a back-to-back NCCAA DII National Champion, Tournament MVP, NCCA DII National Player of the Year, and as a three-time NCCAA All-American, I believe that Ali is worthy of this award," stated Sabercats' head coach Regina DeLozier. "What an honor the AVCA has given to her as the NCCAA player of the year! This award will create lasting memories for her. The whole coaching staff and team feels honored as we understand the prestigious nature of this award. I have been blessed to coach such a humble player as Ali." 

Maranatha is the first institution to have multiple players receive the award since the award was first given in 2009.

For more on the AVCA, click here to visit their website

For more on the NCCAA, click here to visit their website

Click here to learn more about the Sabercats' Volleyball program and its history