Breaking New Ground

Breaking New Ground

WATERTOWN, Wis. -- The Maranatha Cross Country Teams broke new ground in more ways than one during the 2020 season. NCCAA records. Team performances. Personal records. All-American finishes. Stories of resilience and grit. All of these were key parts of the 2020 season, as a couple of determined squads broke new ground for the program, setting the bar high not only for this season but also for the seasons ahead.

The teams had to wait until October to feel like they had a normal season, as cancellations took a toll on the schedule. But the teams persisted in their training, and after Jeremy Fopma broke his own program record for fastest 8K at the Bethel Invitational, the squads started to gain momentum.

They rode that momentum to a jaw-dropping display at the Jayhawk Invitational in Muskegon, Michigan the very next week. Every single runner in Maranatha colors set a PR that day, as both teams had a day they'll never forget. Fopma flew to a 25:04 8K to blow away his PR and the standing program record, and seven runners broke into or increased their standing in the program Top 20 listings. 

The persistence was paying off.

At the season finale of NCCAA Nationals, the Women's Team turned out in full force, almost catching a national runner-up placement after every single runner PR'd again. The squad would only lose out on tiebreakers, but a full-squad-PR performance will never be taken away from them. On the men's side, the team battled injuries en route to a third-place finish. 

But the stories that made the headlines at Nationals came on an individual level, as two runners made history.

Abigail Doak became the first runner in Maranatha Women's Cross Country program history to win the national meet, cruising to a 19:36 5K - the second-fastest time in program history. And Jeremy Fopma became the first runner on record to win the overall men's race at NCCAA Nationals, beating the field by almost a full minute. In the historic win, Fopma defended his national title, secured his All-American status, and gave the team something to celebrate in the final meet of the season.


Each runner made significant strides in the season. A list of all PRs and awards is below:

Personal Record (Women)              Time (5K)     Date   Event
Abigail Doak 19:36 11/14 NCCAA Nationals    
Sierra John 21:23 11/14 NCCAA Nationals      
Katie Jean Lingle 22:23 11/14 NCCAA Nationals      
Rebekah Shetter 24:36 11/14 NCCAA Nationals      
Hannah Hecker 24:53 11/14 NCCAA Nationals      
Katelyn Smith 26:14 11/14 NCCAA Nationals      
Haly Hendricks 26:46 11/14 NCCAA Nationals      
Myah Hoffmann 27:26 11/14 NCCAA Nationals
Personal Record (Men) Time (8K) Date Event
Jeremy Fopma 25:04 10/17 Jayhawk Invitational
Josiah Cochran 28:30 10/17 Jayhawk Invitational  
Jordan Hoffmann 28:48 11/14 NCCAA Nationals
Jefferson Rupert 28:50 10/24 Mustang Jamboree  
Zach Brungard 29:53 10/17 Jayhawk Invitational  
Drew Smith 30:41 10/24 Mustang Jamboree
Jonathan Gilliam 31:53 10/17 Jayhawk Invitational
Jeremy Zobel 32:24 10/17 Jayhawk Invitational  
Jeremiah Markle 40:41 10/17 Jayhawk Invitational  



In a semester's-end athletic awards assembly, the following awards were highlighted, as the team recognized both national award winners and team awards:

Team Awards Recipient
Most Improved (Men) Zach Brungard
Most Valuable (Men) Jeremy Fopma
Team Player (Men) Drew Smith, Jordan Hoffmann 
Newcomer of the Year (Men) Josiah Cochran
Most Improved (Women) Myah Hoffmann
Most Valuable (Women) Abigail Doak
Team Player (Women)  Sierra John
Newcomer of the Year (Women) Rebekah Shetter
NCCAA Nationals Overall/DII Winner (Men)    
Jeremy Fopma  
NCCAA DII Nationals Winner (Women)  
Abigail Doak  
NCCAA Scholar-Athletes (JR, SR, GS only)  
Zach Brungard Katie Jean Lingle  
Abigail Doak Jefferson Rupert   
Haly Hendricks Drew Smith
Jordan Hoffmann Jeremy Zobel
Sierra John  


For more on the program, visit their team page HERE (Men) and HERE (Women).

Nationals In Sight
January 12, 2021 Nationals In Sight
Breaking New Ground
January 5, 2021 Breaking New Ground
Exceeding Expectations
December 29, 2020 Exceeding Expectations
Recapping the Run
December 17, 2020 Recapping the Run
A Look Back
December 15, 2020 A Look Back
Weekly for Wilkerson
December 14, 2020 Weekly for Wilkerson
More of Morrison
December 7, 2020 More of Morrison
Moses Collects
December 7, 2020 Moses Collects
Pill at the Pinnacle
December 3, 2020 Pill at the Pinnacle
Sponnie at the Summit
December 3, 2020 Sponnie at the Summit
Basketball Games Cancelled
December 1, 2020 Basketball Games Cancelled
AVCA All-Americans
November 24, 2020 AVCA All-Americans
More for Moses
November 23, 2020 More for Moses
Climax Close-Up
November 20, 2020 Climax Close-Up
This Means More
November 19, 2020 This Means More
No Superman
November 18, 2020 No Superman
Thursday Game Postponed
November 18, 2020 Thursday Game Postponed
Rewrite the Script
November 18, 2020 Rewrite the Script
Nationals In Focus
November 18, 2020 Nationals In Focus
Hansel Honored
November 18, 2020 Hansel Honored
More History Made
November 18, 2020 More History Made
Inside Pool A
November 17, 2020 Inside Pool A
Third Shuffle
November 16, 2020 Third Shuffle
Making NCCAA History
November 14, 2020 Making NCCAA History
Second Shuffle
November 13, 2020 Second Shuffle
The Road Ahead
November 13, 2020 The Road Ahead
Success Secrets
November 12, 2020 Success Secrets
Weekend Games Postponed
November 11, 2020 Weekend Games Postponed
Nationals Field Adjusted
November 11, 2020 Nationals Field Adjusted
Back Together
November 9, 2020 Back Together
Reclaim the Fame
November 8, 2020 Reclaim the Fame
Top Seed for the Tournament
November 7, 2020 Top Seed for the Tournament
After Day Two
November 6, 2020 After Day Two
Season-Opener Cancelled
November 5, 2020 Season-Opener Cancelled
After Day One
November 5, 2020 After Day One
Schedule Shuffle
November 5, 2020 Schedule Shuffle
Fopma Flies Ahead
November 3, 2020 Fopma Flies Ahead
Business Still Unfinished
November 2, 2020 Business Still Unfinished
Title Defense: Targeted
November 2, 2020 Title Defense: Targeted
Eligibility Extended
October 29, 2020 Eligibility Extended
Parents' Day Cancelled
October 28, 2020 Parents' Day Cancelled
Three More
October 26, 2020 Three More
Jamboree Jumpstart
October 24, 2020 Jamboree Jumpstart
Regional Faceoff
October 23, 2020 Regional Faceoff
Round-Robin Regional
October 23, 2020 Round-Robin Regional
Men's Soccer Game Postponed
October 22, 2020 Men's Soccer Game Postponed
Traveling Trifecta
October 19, 2020 Traveling Trifecta
Miracle in Muskegon
October 17, 2020 Miracle in Muskegon
Bigtime at Bethel
October 9, 2020 Bigtime at Bethel
Sponnie for Three
October 5, 2020 Sponnie for Three
Sponnie Starts it Off
October 1, 2020 Sponnie Starts it Off
Two for Hansel
September 28, 2020 Two for Hansel
Test Run Ready
September 25, 2020 Test Run Ready
300 for DeLozier
September 23, 2020 300 for DeLozier
Two for the Show
September 14, 2020 Two for the Show
Forward Looks
September 10, 2020 Forward Looks
Eyes on the Prize
September 9, 2020 Eyes on the Prize
Prepared to Prepare
September 3, 2020 Prepared to Prepare
New Look
September 3, 2020 New Look
Nostalgia and "Normality"
August 31, 2020 Nostalgia and "Normality"
August 17, 2020 COVID-19 FAQs
Fall Schedule Updates
July 27, 2020 Fall Schedule Updates
Academic Achievements
July 22, 2020 Academic Achievements
A Forward Look
June 24, 2020 A Forward Look
Hosting Hopes
June 19, 2020 Hosting Hopes
Back to Business
June 17, 2020 Back to Business